Glenwood Cemetery is a historic cemetery located in Lockport, New York. It sits on acres of rolling hills on the Niagara Escarpment. Some notable burials in the cemetery include Governor Washington Hunt, William George Morgan, the Sutherland Sisters, and more. We offer many burial options with our four modern mausoleums, basic graves, and columbarium niches.
Glenwood cemetery was first used as a cemetery in the early 1800’s, on the farm of M.Wheaton. Then, in 1863, Glenwood Cemetery was incorporated with it’s 65 1/2 acres of land on Railroad Street. In 1871, Railroad Street was renamed Glenwood Avenue.
The beautiful granite gate archway at our entrance is constructed of one solid piece of granite, but it’s not the original archway. When it was first built, it was done in sections, and after years, began to crumble away. Homer S. Stockwell and John Hodge had the idea to replace it with an archway carved from just a single block of granite. The new gated archway was erected in June of 1886 as a donation from John Hodge, who is buried within Glenwood Cemetery.
The cemetery plot was laid out by one of the most eminent civil engineers of landscaping in the state at the time. It was, and still is, one of the most picturesque cemeteries in western New York.
325 Glenwood Avenue - Lockport, New York 14094